"Kilian" is situated in the harbor opposite the citycentre of Kiel, Germany
In the winter of 1941/42 the building of a U-Bootbunker
started for protecting the assembling of new U-Boots and to have
the possibility to carry out small repair works. On November
13th, 1943 it was finished and given the codename
A total amount of 200000m3 concrete was used to build the bunker.
|"Kilian" in 1945|
After the war, "Kilian" was blown by English engineers with 12 ton of explosives. In 1959 this was done again. Because of the high cost involved in clearing the bunker debris, the Kieler council decided to leave the remains of "Kilian" as they are.
Since 1988 the remains are marked as a historic building.
|De remains of "Kilian" in 1996|
|Back to the:||Home page||Camps Section||War Industry Section||Complexes Section||Museum & Monument Section|